Logo
General information on ARGE Baden-W├╝rttemberg

Neckarhafen Plochingen GmbH
Am Rheinkai 10
73207 Plochingen

Tel.: +49 - (0)7153 61315-0
Fax: +49 - (0)7153 61315-22

[email protected]
www.neckarhafen-plochingen.de
Deutsch English

Facts & Figures

Did you know that almost the same amount of cargo is transported on Germany's waterways every year as by rail? Approximately 80 - 90 % as much cargo arrives by barge as by train.

Whereas the railways profit from generous public funding alongside their usual income, inland waterway carriers have to rely on transport income. This financial background is a clear indication of the economic and innovative setting in which barge owners and shipping companies operate.

Around 80 % of Germany's inland waterway traffic is on the Rhine, Europe's largest inland waterway. The ports of Mannheim, Karlsruhe, Kehl, Breisach and Weil am Rhein are all on the Rhine.

The Neckar river connects the ports of Heilbronn, Stuttgart and Plochingen to the German and European network of waterways, while Wertheim is on the river Main. Inland waterway crafts have.a very high cubage, as the comparison below shows:

1 inland waterway craft is equal to approx. 2 - 3 whole trains
1 inland waterway craft is equal to approx. 120 - 150 trucks

Due to this impressive cargo capacity, the waterways have always played a key role in transporting mass goods. Container transport has also been advancing in recent years. This basic pillar of combined transport with annual growth rates of up to 10 % shows enormous potential for waterways cargo. In comparison to road traffic, waterways are far from reaching their full capacity - anything is possible.

From an ecological and economical point of view, transport on the waterways takes first place, ahead of road and rail.

Logo
Allgemeine Informationen zur ARGE Baden-Württemberg

Neckarhafen Plochingen GmbH
Am Rheinkai 10
73207 Plochingen

Tel.: +49 - (0)7153 61315-0
Fax: +49 - (0)7153 61315-22

info@neckarhafen-plochingen.de
www.neckarhafen-plochingen.de
Deutsch English

Wissenswertes

War Ihnen bekannt, dass auf den bundesdeutschen Wasserstraßen im Jahr fast genauso viele Güter befördert werden, wie auf der Schiene? Die Größenordnung liegt bei ca. 80 - 90 % dieses Warenstromes.

Während die Bahn auf üppige Fördergelder neben ihren Transporteinnahmen verfügt, können die Binnenschiffer nur über ihre Transporteinnahmen verfügen. Dieser finanzielle Hintergrund zeigt klar und deutlich das wirtschaftliche und innovative Arrangement, in dem sich die Partikuliere und Reedereien bewegen.

Auf dem Rhein, der größten, europäischen Binnenwasserstraße, erfolgen rund 80 % des Binnenschiffsverkehrs in Deutschland. An dieser größten, deutschen Bundeswasserstraße liegen die baden-württembergischen Häfen Mannheim, Karlsruhe, Kehl, Breisach und Weil am Rhein.

Über den Neckar werden die Häfen Heilbronn, Stuttgart und Plochingen und über den Main der Hafen Wertheim an das deutsche und europäische Binnenwasserstraßennetz angeschlossen. Die Leistungsfähigkeit der Binnenschiffe zeigen die folgenden Vergleiche des Ladungsvolumens:

1 Binnenschiff entspricht ca. 2 - 3 Ganzzügen
1 Binnenschiff entspricht ca. 120 - 150 Lkw

Durch dieses gewaltige Ladevolumen nahm die Wasserstraße schon immer eine tragende Rolle bei der Beförderung von Massengütern ein. Seit Jahren ist auch der Transport von Containern im Vormarsch. Diese Grundpfeiler des kombinierten Verkehrs mit jährlichen Steigerungsraten von bis zu 10 % zeigen ein enormes Wachstumspotential im Schiffsgütertransport. Im Vergleich zum Straßenverkehr sind die Kapazitätsgrenzen der Wasserstraße noch in weiter Ferne. Alles ist möglich.

Aus ökologischer und ökonomischer Sicht hat der Transport auf der Wasserstraße gegenüber der Straße und der Schiene den ersten Rang.